Unschoolish

Adventures in sort-of unschooling

Things around here

on September 4, 2012

Each day is basically the same, and yet not. We get up between 8 and 9 am, eat breakfast, and play. Maybe there’s an errand to run, or an appointment somewhere, or someone is coming here to do something (like the bug guy, or a repair person) but it’s… calm (in the sense of doing, not so much with the noise level).

Today TBO got up just before 8. I was awake because of my knee pain but since DH was already up I wasn’t in any huge hurry to get moving. TGO slept until after 8:30 and I wandered in after her. TGO has played with her babies, TBO has made some sort of invention, together they’ve played some sort of doctor game with their stuffed animals. I’ve made phone calls and answered emails for Binky Patrol. I’ve scheduled the kitten’s spay. I’ve sort-of scheduled my other knee surgery. I’ve scheduled the mosquito squad to hopefully kill all these pesky mosquitoes before they give us West Nile. We sent a card to a friend of mine that hasn’t been feeling well. They both drew pictures inside the card. We need to go to the post office later to mail books. Both kids drew pictures for DH before he left for work.

Right now I’m waiting on TGO to finish lunch (and oh em gee is she taking forever!) so I can go shower. I need to look at my to-do list to see what else we need to be doing but TBO is playing some semi-educational game on the iPad…
It’s busy and we do a lot but it doesn’t feel stressful (usually) because we are in control and doing things on our schedule. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

